Zaude Bandivas - Lloyd's List Seafarer of the Year

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Zaude Bandivas - Lloyd's List Seafarer of the Year

Lloyd’s List Middle East and Indian Subcontinent Awards 2015

Zaude Paolo Bandivas wins the Seafarer of the Year Award, at the Lloyd’s List Middle East and Indian Subcontinent Awards.

The Lloyd’s List Awards series recognises the industry’s successes, setting a benchmark for excellence while rewarding innovative ideas and concepts that have pushed the boundaries of what is possible.

This year the Lloyd’s List Middle East and Indian Subcontinent Awards recognised many who had contributed to the changing nature of the shipping industry, with new awards given to the outstanding individuals shaping some of these changes and to the companies driving change with their training, environmental and humanitarian projects.

Zaude Paolo Bandivas won the Seafarer of the Year Award at the Lloyd’s List Middle East and Indian Subcontinent Awards, presented at the esteemed Armani Hotel Dubai on Wednesday 9th December 2015.

The Seafarer of the Year Award recognises skill, bravery and professionalism being demonstrated on a daily basis. The award celebrates instances of leadership, courage and vision while serving at sea. It is an acknowledgement of the seafarers whose tireless dedication is essential for the maritime industry.     

The judges said that Zaude was a worthy winner of this award.

As an able bodied seaman Zaude was working on an anti-piracy vessel based in the Middle East when the owner of the vessel abandoned it and left Zaude stranded. He and a fellow crew member were left unpaid and often without supplies for a number of months. After two and a half years he was repatriated thanks in large to the work of the Mission to Seafarers.

Recipients are chosen from entries taken from the Middle East and Indian Subcontinent region and adjudicated by a distinguished judging panel which this year included: Craig Eason, Chair of Judging Panel and Deputy Editor of Lloyd’s List, Captain Saleem Alavi, Former Maritime Adviser and Director of the UAE Ship Registry, Adviser to the National Transport Authority, Adel Jebara Alfalahi, Adviser, Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC), Nils Kristian Berge, Chief Executive Officer, Arab Shipbuilding and Repair Yard, Simon Brebner, Chief Commercial Officer, Abu Dhabi Terminals, Joseph Brincat, Regional Vice President, Middle East-American Bureau of Shipping, Simon Cartwright, Partner, Holman Fenwick Willan Middle East LLP, Lars Christiansen, Chief Trade Officer, United Arab Shipping Company (UASC), Michel Deleuran, Executive Vice President, Milaha, H.E Prof. Dr. Ismail Abdel Ghafar PhD, President, Arab Academy of Science, Technology and Maritime Transport (AASTMT), Marcus Machin, Director- Middle East, Tufton Oceanic, Arun Sharma, Chairman and Managing Director, Indian Register of Shipping.

The awards are managed by Lloyd’s List - leading maritime commerce since 1734.  – Lloyd’s List provides information, analysis and knowledge for business decision makers in a changing and increasingly complex shipping environment.

To see the full list of Lloyd’s List Middle East and Indian Subcontinent Awards winners please visit:  


Our Location


(Click map for full size)

Contact Us

Location in Dubai:
Al Nasr Plaza, Office 211,
PO BOX 212667, Dubai, UAE

Follow the Angel Appeal

Get Our Newsletter